Aug 7 & 8: I Was Glad

Saturday 7 August 2021 (7.30pm)
Wellington Cathedral of Saint Paul

Sunday 8 August 2021
Venue and time to be confirmed

Self-presented concert

I Was Glad is a programme of two halves. Accompanied by an instrumental ensemble, the programme first explores awe-inspiring works from Parry’s glorious anthem, I Was Glad, to Hopkin’s mysterious Past Life Melodies featuring harmonic overtone singing.

To finish, Orpheus Choir Wellington is thrilled to bring together soprano Madeleine Pierard, mezzo Margaret Medlyn, and bass Wade Kernot in a performance of Szymanowski’s masterpiece, Stabat Mater. This work combines traditional liturgical text with Polish folk music, fluctuating between powerful drama and poignant sorrow.

Tickets will be available online. For advance bookings, please email our Administrator.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu